Global dashboard date range

When a new dashboard is created the default date range is fixed at 30 days previous to the day you created the dashboard.

You can choose to look at any date range you like - a few days, weeks, months - or even years! By default, most views will show you the last month in view.

There are two types of dates to choose from: Fixed Dates and Relative Dates.

Fixed dates describe a date range between two specific dates.

Relative dates describe a date range relative to the day you are viewing them.

To choose your date range, access the calendar control at the top right corner of your screen - by default the box will open up on Fixed dates. Select a start date and an end date and then click outside the date range box to apply the changes - your dashboard will update automatically.

Alternatively select the Relative dates function and pick the relative date range you are interested in. You are able to create a dashboard that’s relative to today, “x” days before today, “x” days after today, as well as many other options in the weekly, monthly, quarterly and yearly selection. Click outside the date range box to apply the changes - your dashboard will update automatically.

You can set different dates for different dashboards.

The global date range will apply to each visualization that you add to the dashboard.

Dates per visualization

You can also set different dates for each of your visualizations. This enables you to compare metrics and look for trends across various time periods in the same dashboard.

Simply click on the edit icon at the top right of the visualization and select ‘date range’ in the studio. The date range functionality is exactly the same as the global date range and thus you can select a fixed or relative date for each of your visualizations.

Pro Tip: Use the global date range to set the dates you want for the majority of the visualizations and only add a different date range to the ones you want.

When sharing dashboards:

  • Viewers of the shared dashboard will be able to temporarily change the date range. Their date range change will not persist after a refresh. The date range will revert back to the dashboard owner selected date.

  • When the dashboard owner updates the shared dashboard date range, this change will be visible to all who have access to the dashboard.

Please note that the longer date range you select, the more data your view will need to load. If you're looking at a large volume of visualizations or particularly complex insights for a time period of multiple years, you may need to wait momentarily for your view to load.

Did this answer your question?